ADVISORY: Extension of Travel Restrictions on Foreign Passengers From Japan Until January 31, 2021

Pursuant to IATF Resolution No. 95, relevant guidelines issued by the IATF and the Office of the President, a travel ban is extended on travel-restricted countries1, including Japan, that has reported cases of the new COVID-19 variant until January 31, 2021.

In view of the foregoing, the following measures shall be observed for the duration of the travel ban:

1. SHALL NOT be allowed entry

All foreigners coming from the travel-restricted countries, including Japan, within 14 days immediately preceding arrival to the Philippines, regardless of their visa category or previously issued endorsement or exemption the Department of Foreign Affairs (DFA)/ privileges (under RA 6768 – Balikbayan).

• All unaccompanied minor Filipino citizens coming from the travel restricted countries, except if such minors are returning through the repatriation program of the national government, who shall be turned over to OWWA and the DSWD upon arrival in the Philippines;

Previously issued visas and visa-free privileges under the Balikbayan Program (i.e., foreign spouses and children of Filipinos and former Filipinos) continue to be suspended. Those whose flights have been affected by the travel ban are advised to reschedule their travel accordingly. Otherwise, they will be excluded by the Bureau of Immigration.

2. MAY BE allowed entry

All Filipinos, including dual citizens with identification/recognition certificates, but subject to RT-PCR test, quarantine and isolation protocols issued by the Department of Health (DOH);

Foreign spouse and minor children of Filipino citizens provided that they (a) are travelling with the Filipino spouse/parent; (b) hold existing or new 9a visas; and (c) subject to the same testing and quarantine protocols applicable to Filipino citizens.

• All unaccompanied Filipino minor children from non-travel restricted countries;

Note: Advisory for Filipinos Intending to Travel to the Philippines

Foreign passengers who (a) have transited or who have a mere lay-over at the airports of the travel-restricted countries, and with no immigration admission at said countries; and, (b) not coming from any of the travel-restricted countries, provided they hold authorized visas and subjected to RT-PCR test, quarantine and isolation protocols issued by the DOH.

Diplomats and representatives of international organizations accredited to the Republic of the Philippines and their qualified dependents with valid and subsisting 9(e) visas, who shall likewise be exempted from quarantine protocols provided that: (a) they undergo RT-PCR testing upon arrival at the airport; (b) submit/present a duly executed Undertaking to the DOH-BOQ personnel at port of entry; and (c) observe strict 14-day self-quarantine at their declared accommodation or quarters;

Foreign dignitaries who shall observe existing testing and quarantine protocols upon arrival in the Philippines; and,

Foreign nationals travelling to the Philippines for medical and emergency cases, including their foreign medical escorts, if any, subject to the applicable testing and quarantine protocols as prescribed by the DOH.

3. General Arrival Protocols

• Incoming passengers shall be tested twice, upon arrival and on the fifth day from arrival;

• Absolute quarantine in an accredited facility shall be observed until the result of the second test administered on the fifth day is released;

• Negative results from the two COVID-19 tests shall be endorsed to the passengers’ local government units, who shall then strictly monitor the remainder of the 14-day quarantine through their respective Barangay Health Emergency Response Teams.

In line with this, the Embassy will suspend visa processing and issuance during the travel ban, unless included in the exemptions above. Thus, all visa applications will only be processed after the lifting of the travel suspension, unless further extended.

1 Australia, Austria, Brazil, Canada, China, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Hong Kong SAR, Hungary, Iceland, India, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Jamaica, Japan, Jordan, Lebanon, Luxembourg, Norway, Oman, Pakistan, Portugal, Singapore, South Africa, South Korea, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, The Netherlands, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom, United States